< Großhirnrinde lernt schneller als gedacht

Science clears up the macho cliché

Sexual excitability is not a question of gender


Tübingen, Germany. 15 July 2019. Men think only of sex. Is that so? Are they really faster and easier to arouse, while women are considered more reasonable and rational? If you look at the spontaneous, uncontrollable reaction of our brain to erotic images, you won't find any gender differences. Scientists from the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics in Tübingen analysed data from different studies worldwide and found that there are no differences at the neurobiological level.

Scientists from the Department of Physiology of Cognitive Processes and the Research Group for Neuronal Convergence analysed comparable data from 61 studies carried out in different laboratories and countries worldwide with a total of 1,850 subjects. Among the participants, there was a comparable distribution of gender and sexual orientation, as well as a range of different nationalities.

In the studies, participants looked at erotic images and movies, while the immediate brain response was measured by functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI). fMRI is a non-invasive method for measuring brain activity by detecting changes in blood oxygen levels in the brain. Active brain areas have a higher oxygen consumption, which makes them appear brighter on the images. The brighter, the more active the region.

The results of these studies show that there are no gender differences in brain responses to visual sexual stimuli. However, there were significant differences in activity patterns: depending on how the stimuli were presented, the responses were different. "Compared to films, viewing erotic images leads to a broader range of excitement in several brain areas at the same time," explains research group leader Hamid Noori. Does this mean that Playboy is better than porn?

The sexual orientation of the study participants also influenced the activity patterns: "Heterosexuals reacted more strongly to the visual stimuli than homosexual subjects," the neuroscientist explains the results. Men and women, on the other hand, respond equally to the stimuli regardless of their sexual orientation. On the neurobiological level, the excitation does not differ between the sexes.

These studies now fundamentally question the conventional view of sexual behaviour. Previous studies have shown differences in sexual arousal and desire between the sexes. However, the supposed gender difference in the neuronal processing of sexual stimuli could be due to many factors: These include, for example, hormonal differences, discrepancies in the subjective perception of arousal or sexual motivations or simply an insufficient number of subjects in the studies. Nevertheless, these results supported the widespread assumption that the male brain is more sex-oriented than the female brain.

And as for our behaviour, social influences such as parents, schools, friends, the state and legal systems have contributed to alienating women from their own sexual desires. Sex is still taboo in many cultures. The recognition that we behave in the same way when it comes to arousal can help to break down clichés and taboos.


Original Publication
Mitricheva E, Kimura R, Logothetis NK, Noori HR. Neural substrates of sexual arousal are not sex-dependent. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, 2019.


Scientific Contact:
Priv.-Doz. Dr. Dr. Hamid R. Noori
Phone: +49 (7071) 601-1710
E-mail: hamid.noori(at)tuebingen.mpg.de

Press Contact:
Dr. Daniel Fleiter (Head of Communication)
Phone: +49 (7071) 601-777
E-mail: presse-kyb(at)tuebingen.mpg.de

Stephanie Bertenbreiter (Press officer)
Phone: +49 (7071) 601-222
E-mail: presse-kyb(at)tuebingen.mpg.de


Printable images can be obtained from the public relations office. Please send us a copy of your publication.


Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics
The Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics is one of 84 research institutions of the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science (MPG). The aim of the Institute is to understand information processing in the brains of humans and animals. We use experimental, theoretical and computational methods to elucidate the characteristics and implementations of the cascades of plastic and recurrent interactions that transform sensory data into perceptions, memories, appropriate choices of actions, and motor output. (www.kyb.mpg.de)


The brain does not discriminate - Tübinger Neuroscientists found: Brain activity associated with sexual arousal is equal in men and women. Image courtesy of Marc Arthofer, design hoch drei GmbH

The brain does not discriminate - Tübinger Neuroscientists found: Brain activity associated with sexual arousal is equal in men and women. Image courtesy of Marc Arthofer, design hoch drei GmbH

< Forscher weisen Selektionsmechanismen bei der Vererbung nach

Wissenschaft räumt mit dem Macho-Klischee auf

Die sexuelle Erregbarkeit ist keine Frage des Geschlechts


Tübingen, 15. Juli 2019. Männer denken immer nur an Sex. Ist das so? Sind sie wirklich schneller und leichter erregbar, während Frauen als vernünftiger und rationaler gelten? Betrachtet man die spontane, nicht kontrollierbare Reaktion unseres Gehirns auf erotisches Bildmaterial, so findet man keine geschlechtlichen Unterschiede. Tübinger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler vom Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik analysierten die Daten aus verschiedenen Studien weltweit und stellten fest: Auf neurobiologischer Ebene gibt es keine Unterschiede.

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus der Abteilung für Physiologie kognitiver Prozesse und der Forschungsgruppe für Neuronale Konvergenz analysierten vergleichbare Daten von 61 Studien, welche in verschiedenen Laboren und Ländern weltweit mit insgesamt 1,850 Probanden stattfanden. Unter den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern gab es eine vergleichbare Verteilung der Geschlechter und ihrer sexuellen Orientierung, ebenso wie eine Bandbreite verschiedener Nationalitäten.

In den Studien betrachteten die Teilnehmenden erotische Bilder und Filme, während die unmittelbare Reaktion des Gehirns mit funktioneller Magnetresonanztomographie (fMRI) gemessen wurde. fMRI ist eine nicht invasive Methode, um Gehirnaktivitäten zu messen, indem es Veränderungen des Sauerstoffgehalts des Blutes im Gehirn erkennt. Aktive Hirnareale haben einen höheren Sauerstoffverbrauch, hierdurch erscheinen sie heller auf den Aufnahmen. Desto heller, desto aktiver die Region.

Die Ergebnisse dieser Studien belegen, dass es keine geschlechtlichen Unterschiede in den Gehirnreaktionen auf visuelle Sexualreize gibt. Es gab jedoch signifikante Unterschiede in den Aktivitätsmustern: Je nachdem, wie die Reize präsentiert wurden, fielen die Reaktionen unterschiedlich stark aus. "Im Vergleich zu Filmen führt das Betrachten erotischer Bilder zu einer breiter gefächerten Erregung in mehreren Gehirnarealen gleichzeitig", erklärt der Forschungsgruppenleiter Hamid Noori. Heißt das, der Playboy ist besser als ein Porno?

Auch die sexuelle Orientierung der Studienteilnehmerinnen und -teilnehmer beeinflusste die Aktivitätsmuster: "Heterosexuelle reagierten stärker auf die visuellen Reize als homosexuelle Probanden.", erläutert der Neurowissenschaftler die Ergebnisse. Männer und Frauen sprechen dagegen unabhängig von ihrer sexuellen Orientierung gleichermaßen auf die Stimuli an. Auf neurobiologischer Ebene unterscheidet sich die Erregung also nicht zwischen den Geschlechtern.

Diese Studien stellen nun die herkömmliche Sichtweise auf das Sexualverhalten grundlegend in Frage. Frühere Untersuchungen haben Unterschiede bei der sexuellen Erregung und Begierde zwischen den Geschlechtern belegt. Der vermeintliche Geschlechterunterschied in der neuronalen Verarbeitung von Sexualreizen könnte aber auf viele Faktoren zurückzuführen sein: Dazu gehören beispielsweise hormonelle Unterschiede, Diskrepanzen in der subjektiven Wahrnehmung der Erregung oder der sexuellen Motivationen oder einfach nur eine unzureichende Anzahl von Versuchspersonen in den Studien. Dennoch untermauerten diese Ergebnisse die weit verbreitete Annahme, dass das männliche Gehirn sexorientierter ist als das der Frauen.

Und was unser Verhalten betrifft: Soziale Einflüsse wie Eltern, Schulen, Freunde, der Staat und Rechtssysteme haben dazu beigetragen, Frauen von ihren eigenen sexuellen Wünschen zu entfremden. In vielen Kulturen wird Sex immer noch tabuisiert. Die Erkenntnis, dass wir uns in Sachen Erregung gleich verhalten, kann dazu beitragen, Klischees und Tabus abzubauen.


Originalpublikation
Mitricheva E, Kimura R, Logothetis NK, Noori HR. Neural substrates of sexual arousal are not sex-dependent. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, 2019.


Wissenschaftlicher Kontakt:
Priv.-Doz. Dr. Dr. Hamid R. Noori
Phone: +49 (7071) 601-1710
E-mail: hamid.noori(at)tuebingen.mpg.de

Presse- & Öffentlichkeitsarbeit:
Dr. Daniel Fleiter (Leiter Kommunikation)
Phone: +49 (7071) 601-777
E-mail: presse-kyb(at)tuebingen.mpg.de

Stephanie Bertenbreiter (Pressereferentin)
Phone: +49 (7071) 601-222
E-mail: presse-kyb(at)tuebingen.mpg.de


Druckfähige Bilder erhalten Sie von der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Bitte senden Sie uns bei Veröffentlichung einen Beleg.


Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik
Das Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik ist eine von 84 Forschungseinrichtungen der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e.V. (MPG). Das Institut erforscht die Informationsverarbeitung im Gehirn von Mensch und Tier. Experimentelle und theoretische Methoden sowie Computersimulationen helfen dabei, die Prozesse zu untersuchen, die Sinnesreize in Wahrnehmungen und Erinnerungen übersetzen, uns Entscheidungen fällen und handeln lassen. (www.kyb.mpg.de)


Das Gehirn von Männern und Frauen reagiert bei sexueller Erregung identisch. Image courtesy of Marc Arthofer, design hoch drei GmbH

Das Gehirn von Männern und Frauen reagiert bei sexueller Erregung identisch. Image courtesy of Marc Arthofer, design hoch drei GmbH